Community

Getting to know Ann Padley

Hi, I'm Ann and Head of Faculty for This is Doing.

What do you do?

I'm a design educator, strategist and program developer working to bring together people, processes and possibilities to help individuals and teams embrace new ways of working. Alongside working as Head of Faculty with This is Doing, I work as an independent consultant, working with clients to design and deliver meaningful learning experiences.

Where are you based?

Denver, Colorado

What does a typical working day look like for you?

After taking the dog out and getting ready for the day, I sit at my computer with a cup of coffee - it’s my cue to my brain it’s time focus! From there, I like to catch up on the most important task for the day - either completing it or making a plan to get there. Peruse emails and Slack to catch up with teammates. Check on course platforms to add new content or respond to questions. Tackle a piece of work that can benefit most from my morning alertness - developing new course content, planning a path through a challenging problem. Planning time with a client for a new course or workshop. Insights meeting to learn from someone or get feedback on something. Check back in on all the channels to make sure everything is taken care of for the day and make sure my calendar is blocked out with tasks for the following day. Sounds simple written out, but there are always fires to fight and noise to tune between those lines!

What was your first job?

A busser (I cleaned tables and washed dishes) at a local supper club.

What does your work set up look like?

Ann Padleys work set up

Other than a computer and an internet connection, what are the three things that you need to work?

Coffee. Quiet. Connecting with others.

What will the first thing that you will do after the pandemic is over?

Have a giant meal at a big table with many friends the day before I leave to travel somewhere.

Favourite place on earth?

Florence, Italy

What is your proudest achievement to date?

Creating a life by design that allows for the opportunity to travel, meet new people and do interesting work.

Name your favourite food and drink

Street food and craft beer

Ann Padley
Author

Ann Padley